Phantom Row lives in the Trueheart-Adriance Building in the historic downtown district of Galveston, TX. The building was designed in Neo-Renaissance, High Victorian style by noted architect Nicholas J. Clayton for H.M. Trueheart & Co. – the first chartered realty firm in Texas, founded by John O. Trueheart in 1857.

H.M. Trueheart joined his father in 1866, admitted John Adriance as a partner in 1871, and built this structure in 1882. After H.M. Truheart retired in 1906, the firm continued through 1953 as John Adriance & Sons. In 1920, the building was wired for electricity, received telephone connection and plumbing. Our upstairs location originally housed the law firm of F.D. Minor and Judge W.T. Austin. In the decades since, many law offices have lived in this space, with the exception of The Junior League of Galveston County who restored the building in the 1970s. Today, we are honored to steward the second floor, with our artisan studio in the back room, and the front board room showcasing our curiosity shop.

The building is right off The Strand, the center of business in Galveston during the latter part of the 19th and early part of the 20th century. Once dubbed “The Wall Street of the South”, The Strand was home to many opulent Victorian buildings, including banks, grocers, liquor and cigar dealers, cotton factors, newspapers, steam and sail ship agencies, auction houses, saloons, and sailor boarding houses. A great number of these buildings have been preserved or beautifully restored to their original design – including the Trueheart-Adriance building.

Come visit us beginning Fall 2024!

⟡ Subscribe for 15% off your first order ⟡
Join our digital coven for secret sales, occasional studio updates & more!